Breaking Point

I can’t believe that Hanukkah has been over for a week already, and that Christmas and New Years are coming up. Seriously, where has this year gone? I know I promised that there would be updates, and there will be. The laundry room is (was) coming along just fine, but we have decided to take a break on that room.

Cabinets are done, hardware is in, David finished painting and just has minor touch ups, and this weekend he installed a closet system. Even though everything is looking great, now that the room is mostly cleared out, I am noticing that there are some issues with the spacing of the floor tiles and the grouting. The only solution is for David to rip out some of the flooring and redo it. This is obviously annoying, because we have been working on this room since July, but it just has to be fixed. When we go to sell this house, I would hate for somebody to think anything looks DIY.

Let’s backtrack a little bit though. A couple of weeks ago my oldest had a play date. We rarely have play dates here because the house has been a construction zone, and Dax was napping twice a day until recently. But, I thought we were in a good place to finally have friends here, plus I was doing my friend a favor by watching her son. To say that Eli and his friend destroyed our house is an understatement.  I took pictures of the damage, but I deleted them because I wanted no memory of what the house looked like that night.     The thing is, I wasn’t even mad about it, it just made me realize that we need to readjust our priorities (again), and focus on getting our basement and playroom done.

I definitely think I hit a major breaking point with this house and I was totally distraught after the playdate. I want for my kids’ friends to come over and destroy the house, I want them to come over and think that they could have so much fun and not me nagging all of the time.  I expect nothing more than a total mess, especially with these wild boys.  The problem is, we have zero organization system in any play area in this house.  There are toys piled on toys, piled on toys, and it must be just as chaotic for the kids to play and not be able to know where things belong, as it is for me.

So, while there is still work to do in the laundry room, we had to get our act together with the basement.  We headed to IKEA to get some major storage solutions and David built them all within 45 minutes.  They are not complete yet, and there is so much work to be done down here, but it is an absolute necessity at this point, and everything else can wait.

Enjoy the hot mess “before” photos of the basement, I hope it doesn’t stress you out as much as it stresses me out!

One thought on “Breaking Point

Leave a comment